ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on 23 May 2017

PRESENT:Councillor Robert G Parry OBE FRAgS (Chair)
Councillor Richard Owain Jones (Vice-Chair)

Councillors Lewis Davies, R Dew, John Griffith, Richard Griffiths, Glyn Haynes, K P Hughes, T Ll Hughes MBE, Vaughan Hughes, Llinos Medi Huws, A M Jones, Carwyn Jones, Eric Wyn Jones, G O Jones, R Ll Jones, R.Meirion Jones, Alun W Mummery, Bryan Owen, Shaun James Redmond, Dylan Rees, Alun Roberts, Dafydd Roberts, J A Roberts, Margaret Murley Roberts, Nicola Roberts, Dafydd Rhys Thomas, P S Rogers, Ieuan Williams and Robin Williams

IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive, Assistant Chief Executive (Partnerships, Community & Service Improvements), Assistant Chief Executive (Governance and Business Process Transformation), Head of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer, Head of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer, Head of Democratic Services, Committee Officer (MEH).

ALSO PRESENT: None

APOLOGIES: None

1. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of the Isle of Anglesey County Council held on 28 February, 2017 were submitted and confirmed.

2. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

3. TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRPERSON OR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chair welcomed the newly Elected Members to their first meeting of the County Council.

The Chair thereafter made the following announcements :-

- Congratulations were extended to Gôr leuenctid Môn on their success in winning the 'Viewers Award' at the final of Côr Cymru completion held in Aberystwyth recently;
- Congratulations were extended to Councillor Alun Mummery on being invested into the Gorsedd of the Bards at the National Eisteddfod to be held at Bodedern in August 2017. The Chair also wished to congratulate other residents of the Island who have received the honour;
- Congratulations were extended to Bodedern Young Farmers Club who won the recently held Young Farmers Rally;
- Best wishes were extended to the Ynys Môn Island Games Team who will be competing at the Island Games at Gotland in June;
- Best wishes were extended to all who will be competing at the Urdd Eisteddfod, National Eisteddfod, Royal Agricultural Show and Sioe Môn in the forthcoming months;

Condolences were extended to Mrs. Janette Jones from the Democratic Services Department and her family on the recent loss of their son, Alun Môn.

Condolences were extended to the family of the former First Minister of Wales, Mr. Rhodri Morgan who passed away suddenly recently.

The Chair referred to the horrific incident which occurred at Manchester the day before when 22 young people lost their lives and many sustained life changing injuries.

Condolences were extended to any Member of the Council or staff who had suffered bereavement. Members and Officers stood in silent tribute as a mark of their respect and sympathy.

4. PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

None received.

5. PRESENTATION TO RETIRING MEMBERS WHO HAD DECLARED THEIR INTENTION TO RETIRE PRIOR TO COUNCIL ELECTIONS

A presentation was given by the Chair of the County Council to the retiring Members who had declared their intention to retire prior to the Council Elections in May. He wished to thank Mr. Jim Evans, Ann Griffith, T. Victor Hughes, H. Eifion Jones, Raymond Jones and Alwyn Rowlands for their contribution to the County Council.

Mr. Jim Evans, Mr. T. Victor Hughes, Mr. H. Eifion Jones and Mr. Alwyn Rowlands address the Council and thanked the Council and staff during their terms of office. It was noted that Ms. Ann Griffith and Mr. Raymond Jones were unable to attend the presentation.

The Chair also said that a presentation was given to Mr. Derlwyn R. Hughes who had retired due to ill health from the Council in January 2017.

6. AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION - TO MAKE CHANGES TO THE CONSTITUTION TO REFLECT REQUIREMENTS ON THE PLANNING COMMITTEE AS REQUIRED BY RECENT REGULATIONS

It was reported that the Executive upon consideration of the above at its meeting held on 24 April, 2017 resolved as follows :-

"that the changes to the Council's Constitution as set out in paragraph 3.3.1 of the report are made"

RESOLVED to endorse the Executive's recommendations in this respect.

7. STANDARDS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2016/17

The Annual Report of the Standards Committee for 2016/17 was presented by Mr. Islwyn Jones the Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee.

Mr. Jones said that the Chair of the Standards Committee, Mr. Mike Wilson was unable to attend the full Council. Mr. Jones summarised the work delivered by the Standards Committee against the objectives in its 2016/17 Work Programme as set out in Appendix A to the report. He noted that there is currently a casual vacancy for an independent member of the Standards Committee and this vacancy will be filled through an open and competitive process, conducted by the Council's Standards Committee Selection Panel.

The Chair of the Council thanked the Standards Committee for their work over the last twelve months.

RESOLVED :-

- To note the Programme delivered by the Standards Committee for 2016/17;
- To endorse the Standards Committee's Work Programme for 2917/18 as outlined in Appendix B attached to the report.

8. DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2016/17

The Annual Repot of the Democratic Services Committee for 2016/17 was presented by Councillor Vaughan Hughes, Chair of the Democratic Services Committee.

It was RESOLVED to accept and to note the matters considered by the Committee during 2016/17.

9. SCRUTINY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2016/17

The Scrutiny Annual Report for 2016/17 was presented by Councillor R. Meirion Jones, Chair of the Corporate Scrutiny Committee which encompassed the work undertaken by the two scrutiny committees.

He referred to the evolving role of scrutiny and to the effectiveness of the use of outcome panels to undertake detailed reviews of specific areas as well as predecision scrutiny to help shape and inform the decision making process.

RESOLVED :-

- To approve the Overview and Scrutiny Annual Report for 2016/17;
- To note the progress made in implementing the findings of a recent independent review of the overview and scrutiny arrangements;
- To appoint the Chair of the Corporate Scrutiny Committee as the 'Scrutiny Champion' for the period May 2017 to May 2018.

The meeting concluded at 11.30 a.m.

COUNCILLOR ROBERT G. PARRY OBE FRAgS CHAIR